Gregg K. Jones

Vice President Northeast Tennessee

Gregg K. Jones is co-publisher of The Greeneville (Tenn.) Sun, president and CEO of Jones Media, Inc., and member of a multi-generation East Tennessee newspaper family.  As the president of JMI, Jones supervises the operations of his family's media interests and is very active in state, regional and national media organizations.

Jones is past chairman of the Newspaper Association of America.  During his tenure at NAA, Jones served as director and chaired the finance, executive, nominating, postal, industry development and NAA/ABC Liaison committees.   The NAA is the largest newspaper trade association in the United States and Canada.

Jones is also a past president, director and committee chairman of the Southern Newspaper Publishers Association, has served multiple terms as trustee and is currently treasurer of the SNPA Foundation.  He was elected to serve three terms (maximum allowed) from 1991 to 2000 on the board of the Associated Press and has been a member of the Regional Advisory Board for the American Press Institute, based in Northern Virginia.

Jones is a past president of the Tennessee Press Association and has served numerous terms as TPA director, committee chairman and Government Affairs Committee member.  He was a charter member of the TPA recycling task force, and served on the board of STAR — "Support Tennessee's Adult Readers" — an innovative joint initiative of the Tennessee Literacy Coalition and the Tennessee Press Association.   He currently serves on the board of the Tennessee Coalition for Open Government and has served as president of the Tennessee Press Association Foundation for several years.

Jones continues to serve on the boards of various media and media-related organizations throughout the United States.  He has served for several years on the board of PAGE Cooperative (Publishers Associated to Gain Economy), the largest purchasing cooperative in the newspaper industry, and is currently its chairman.

He has been highly interested in the emergence of free-market journalism in Eastern Europe, and was instrumental in helping the Foundation for the Development of Polish Agriculture establish an independent newspaper/magazine publishing organization in Warsaw in the early 1990s.

In addition to his professional involvements, Jones has served as president of the East Tennessee Foundation, a director of the Greene County Partnership, a director of the Open Spaces Conservancy in Northeast Tennessee, and as president of Morgan Square, Inc., a nonprofit public benefit corporation shepherding the development of the $15 million-plus Morgan Square project in the center of the National Register Historic District in downtown Greeneville, Tennessee. 

As a participant in the successful effort to name a Los Angeles Class United States submarine after his hometown, Jones led a contingent of local dignitaries to Washington in 1989, ultimately securing the support of several key United States leaders and lawmakers for the project … including the entire Tennessee congressional delegation, the Secretary of the U.S. Navy and the president of the United States.  Jones is a past president of the Greeneville Exchange Club, Main Street: Greeneville, Inc., and the United Way of Greene County.  He continues to be an active member of all three organizations.

Jones is Vice President for Northeast Tennessee of the East Tennessee Historical Society, a board member of the East Tennessee Historical Society Foundation, an honorary board member of the Greene County Heritage Trust, a patron of Little Theatre of Greeneville, Inc., and participates in the activities of several other community-oriented associations.  He is a member of St. James Episcopal Church, where he has served multiple terms as senior warden of the church vestry.

Jones was the 2002 recipient of the Dr. L.E. Coolidge Award for Humanitarian Service for Greene County, Tennessee, given by Takoma Adventist Hospital.  In 2013, the Southern Newspaper Publishers Association presented Jones in Sarasota with the Frank W. Mayborn Leadership Award.  Later that year Jones received the national Significant Sig Award by the Sigma Chi fraternity.  In October 2014, Jones became the recipient in Chicago of the Ralph D. Casey/Minnesota award for "enduring achievements, a distinguished record of service and leadership to the newspaper industry."  The award was presented by the Inland Press Association and the University of Minnesota School of Journalism and Mass Communications.  He has been the recipient of many other awards.