**Cancelled** Newsmakers Not Covered by the Media Today

Brown Bag 2022 Lecture Series with Georgiana Vines
In person & Online
Wednesday, November 16, 2022 - 7:00am to 8:00am

In Person Location and Reservations
East Tennessee History Center, 601 South Gay Street, Knoxville, TN 37902 (Seating is limited.) Register on Eventbrite.

Online Reservations
Register on Eventbrite for this event streamed on Zoom

Or visit the ETHS Facebook page at the start of the program to watch this on Facebook Live.

The Sunsphere, World’s Fair Site, and Neyland Stadium are Knoxville landmarks of pride and passion, history, and culture. But anyone who has resided in this mid-sized southern city knows that it derives its unique glow not so much from its locale but from its people— the ones who built it and stayed true to it over the years. In East Tennessee NewsmakersGeorgiana Vines pays tribute to some of these remarkable individuals and their contributions to Knoxville and the history, civic and cultural life, and politics of East Tennessee. This collection of 47 stories, originally appearing in the Knoxville News Sentinel, was published by the University of Tennessee Press in November 2019 prior to the COVID-19 pandemic. Now that in person events have resumed, Vines is back to share this book with the public.

About the Speaker
Georgiana Vines is retired associate editor of the Knoxville News Sentinel, for which she still writes a political column every two weeks. Her career at the News Sentinel began in 1968; she has lived in Knoxville since then, except for 1996-97, when she was editor of the now-defunct El Paso Herald-Post in Texas. She was 1992-93 national president of the Society of Professional Journalists; is an ex officio board member of the East Tennessee Pro Chapter of SPJ and Front Page Foundation; a past chair of the Clarence Brown Theatre advisory board, and has taught at the University of Tennessee’s School of Journalism and Electronic Media. She received the Wells Key, national Society of Professional Journalists, 1996; Lifetime Achievement Award, East Tennessee Writers Hall of Fame, sponsored by Friends of Literacy, 2015, and 50-Year Club, Tennessee Press Association, 2016.